Weekly Scoop

scoop

 

Not only is today the day I post my Weekly Scoop, but today I am actually heading to the hospital for gallbladder surgery. Yes, today will be the day I part with something that has been with me for over 32 years. However, even though it has been with me for so long, I do not believe I am going to miss it, or the pain it has given me in recent days. With that said, I am going to get this post posted so I can get ready to head to the hospital.

This is a great article on the impact missionaries have had in numerous locations around the world: The Impact world missionaries have made.

A big event coming up is the big game on Sunday, but along with that comes another issue, that of human trafficking. Ed Stetzer addresses a misconception that comes with it: The Super Bowl and Sex Trafficking.

Here is a great post on the issues facing a husband and wife after baby. This is a great read for both men and women: Before you were mommy.

A song that is pretty popular these days is “Same Love” by Macklemore & Ryan Lewis. Jackie Hill responds to the message the song preaches: Former lesbian responds to Same Love.

This video presents the gospel in a different but effective way: Video Preaches the gospel in breathtaking way.

Did you watch the Grammys? Wonder how Christians should respond or what we can take away from it? Here are a couple perspectives: Worldview responses to the Grammys.

Has your church moved away from an evening service? Here is a great perspective on why not to: Why I love the evening service.

As a youth pastor, I am constantly finding articles on how to reach the next generation. Here is another great article for parents, youth workers, and ministers alike: How to rescue the next generation.

Churches should be known for being gospel cultures. But how can churches make sure they stay this way? Ray Ortlund addresses this question: Safeguarding your church as a gospel culture.

Justin Lathrop has a great article regarding how churches can stay on mission as well. Not only is it good for churches, it is also good for individuals: How to stay on mission.

Lastly, this is an interesting article on the question of whether or not authenticity has trumped holiness in churches: Has authenticity trumped holiness?

That is all for today. If you enjoy reading these links, feel free to share this through any of your social media outlets. Lastly, if there is anything you believe I should share next week in my weekly scoop, share it with me on twitter or leave it in the comments below.

About thetoddlynn

Follower of God, Husband, Father, Youth Pastor. View all posts by thetoddlynn

Leave a Reply

