Tis Only One Life

This coming Sunday, I have the honor of preaching at Temple Baptist Church in Covington, VA. As I was preparing I came across a poem by C.T. Studd I want to share with you. It has a simple but powerful message, one that would do me well to remember.

Two little lines I heard one day, Traveling along life’s busy way;
Bringing conviction to my heart, And from my mind would not depart;
Only one life, ’twill soon be past, Only what’s done for Christ will last.

Only one life, yes only one, Soon will its fleeting hours be done;
Then, in ‘that day’ my Lord to meet, And stand before His Judgment seat;
Only one life, ’twill soon be past, Only what’s done for Christ will last.

Only one life, the still small voice, Gently pleads for a better choice
Bidding me selfish aims to leave, And to God’s holy will to cleave;
Only one life, ’twill soon be past, Only what’s done for Christ will last.

Only one life, a few brief years, Each with its burdens, hopes, and fears;
Each with its clays I must fulfill, living for self or in His will;
Only one life, ’twill soon be past, Only what’s done for Christ will last.

When this bright world would tempt me sore, When Satan would a victory score;
When self would seek to have its way, Then help me Lord with joy to say;
Only one life, ’twill soon be past, Only what’s done for Christ will last.

Give me Father, a purpose deep, In joy or sorrow Thy word to keep;
Faithful and true what e’er the strife, Pleasing Thee in my daily life;
Only one life, ’twill soon be past, Only what’s done for Christ will last.

Oh let my love with fervor burn, And from the world now let me turn;
Living for Thee, and Thee alone, Bringing Thee pleasure on Thy throne;
Only one life, “twill soon be past, Only what’s done for Christ will last.

Only one life, yes only one, Now let me say,”Thy will be done”;
And when at last I’ll hear the call, I know I’ll say “twas worth it all”;
Only one life, ’twill soon be past, Only what’s done for Christ will last.

We have but on life to live. Throughout the Bible you can find references to how short our lives are. Now that I am married and have a daughter, I am noticing how quickly life seems to move. It really takes a concerted effort to truly live life with all there is. It is something I am striving to do starting now, not waiting until 2014. But, in the grand scheme of life, and what this poem is all about, only what you do for Christ will last. Your inheritance will eventually be spent. The stuff you leave behind will eventually find its way to a yard sale or garage sale or box in the basement. What truly lasts though is the impact you make on someone for the Lord. What kind of impact are you making? You can choose to live for yourself but that is the saddest of all existence. When you decide to live for the Lord, your life becomes so much bigger than anything else because you are living for the God who made everything.

About thetoddlynn

Follower of God, Husband, Father, Youth Pastor. View all posts by thetoddlynn

Leave a Reply

