Want to become a better communicator?

 

Secrets of Dynamic Communication by Ken Davis

Ever since I first had the opportunity to speak in front of a group of students, I wanted to be remembered as a great speaker; I might even go for a good speaker. Now that I am a youth pastor, I want students to remember what I share with them. When opportunities present themselves for me to fill the pulpit for the senior pastor, I want to know how to communicate in a clear and powerful manner. Like some of you who read this blog, I do not want to overwhelm people with information and pointless words. I do not want people leaving a church service overwhelmed with all that I covered and struggling to truly remember any of the points I presented. Because of this, when I saw this book, I wanted to read it. I am extremely glad I did.

Ken Davis provides the tools necessary to become a speaker people will remember, and along with that, a speaker whose information and message are able to be remembered long after the conclusion. Before reading this book, I had never heard of Ken Davis before. Now I plan on using this book over and over again through the course of my own ministry and training and I will recommend it to anyone who desires to become the best speaker they can be.

Utilizing the SCORRE method, Ken Davis gives readers the necessary information to become dynamic speakers. SCORRE is an acronym which stands for the 6 steps of the method: Subject, Central Theme, Objective, Rationale, Resources and Evaluation. Each of these steps serves as an individual tool and process for developing your talk, message or presentation. “Nothing in the book is designed to change your style or restrict your creativity, but rather, to bring the power of focus to your creativity.” Ken shares “if you want to communicate, the single most important ingredient is an unmistakable aiming point and a careful plan to hit it. FOCUS, FOCUS, FOCUS. Focused purpose. Focused presentation.” This is what the method is all about, helping you focus as you prepare. He also says “if we don’t have a set focus for our presentation, an unconscious one will take over.” Why? Because as a speaker, “if you want people to listen, learn, and take action, you must speak with a crystal-clear focus.” Each and every one of us at one point or another has listened to a speaker who lost us. We have also heard speakers who could seemingly make even the most boring topic seem interesting because of how they presented their topic. If you do not know what I am talking about, do a Google search for TED talks. There you will find examples of many different types of communicators from good ones to bad ones. Ken Davis wants to help you avoid being remembered as a speaker who lost their audience.

While reading Secrets of Dynamic Communication, I found myself practicing what Ken Davis wrote. Each Sunday morning, I have the opportunity to speak to students and share with them from the Word of God. It is a privilege I try not to take lightly. However, I know there have been times I lost the students, or shared information with them they had no idea what to do with. I have struggled to keep some awake and struggled to remain on point other times. Because of this, I realize I have some growing to do and thanks to this book and the SCORRE method, I have what it will take to become a better communicator, which will benefit not only myself, but also everyone who listens to me speak.

Simply put, if you see yourself speaking to people in the future, this book is a must read. Even if you do not believe you are a gifted and talented communicator, this book can serve to encourage you and present all you need to take your communicating to the next level. Ken also teaches a SCORRE conference which as the book says, “has enabled thousands of men and women from around the world to prepare with focus, deliver with clarity and speak with power.”

If this is something you desire, even if all you teach is a Sunday school of 5 junior high boys, this book will help you communicate in a manner they will remember long after they have moved on from under your tutelage. Secrets of Dynamic Communication is a great book and I highly recommend it. You will be glad you picked it up.

Thanks for taking the time to read this review. Take time to check out some of my other reviews on this blog.

 

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze®.com <http://BookSneeze®.com> book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 <http://www.access.gpo.gov/nara/cfr/waisidx_03/16cfr255_03.html> : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”

About thetoddlynn

Follower of God, Husband, Father, Youth Pastor. View all posts by thetoddlynn

Leave a Reply

