A distorted view of God…

This post is a review of  the book God Distorted by John Bishop

One of the biggest issues in the church today is how people view God. With so many broken families and homes, it is easy to see why people have this perspective. For instance, when an individual comes from a home where they have been abused emotionally and physically, why would they want to trust a God who also calls Himself and wants to be known as Father? Many within the church might not understand when people are reluctant to enter a relationship with a God who loves them. What we fail to see is that many times people bear such scars emotionally it becomes hard for them to trust anyone, let alone someone they cannot see.

John Bishop does an excellent job sharing stories from his own life and how they affected his perspective and hindered him from easily accepting God as his heavenly Father. The front of the book says this about the book: “How your earthly father affects your perception of God and why it matters.” I can say that even though I did not completely read the full book, this would be a great addition for anyone’s library. Mr. Bishop is able to relate with those who have experienced broken homes because his own story can leave you in tears. His step-father left their family one evening and he never saw him again. Read what he wrote about this event:

Despite the abuse, his leaving created a gaping hole in my young heart. We were sitting at the dinner table at what was soon to become the last time I would ever see or talk to him. I don’t remember what set him off, but I clearly remember his anger as he picked up the table and dumped all of the dinner, plates, silverware, and glassware on my mom, grandpa, grandma, younger brother and me. We sat, shocked and speechless, as he proceeded to yell at each of us – using words I can’t repeat – before he finally left. I was just a young child – confused, lonely, wanting so desperately to have a dad in my life – and yet here I was again, watching another dad leave me. I ran after him as fast as I could, catching him just as he reached his car, and yelled, “Dad, please don’t leave me!” He glanced at me and, without hesitating, put his hand on my chest, shoved me to the ground, and said, “You are not my kid. You never were and I am not your dad. Get over it!” I sat on my driveway and watched as his car drove away for the last time. Another father gone and I hated him.

The first time I read this story, it brought tears to my eyes. I could not imagine any father being able to do this, even if it was a step-father. Along with that, I cannot imagine a father being able to say this to any child. From that you can see that John is one who is able to write this book from his personal experiences. I cannot imagine all that he went through, and at this point, his own son is in prison as well. John is writing from a position of pain and experience, and along with that, love for his son and others who have experienced the same thing. He writes to reach out to those who are struggling to accept God as their own personal Savior because they cannot imagine Him as a Father.

This book review is not as long as others but as I said, I did not read the book in its entirety, but from what I did read, it is worth your time. If you, or someone you know, has experienced life without a father, or with a father who was not there for you, or abused you or anything else that has left you hurting, this book will be a great encouragement. I highly recommend it.

I received this book for free from WaterBrook Multnomah Publishing Group for this review as a part of their Blogging for Books program in exchange for an honest review.

About thetoddlynn

Follower of God, Husband, Father, Youth Pastor. View all posts by thetoddlynn

Leave a Reply

