I Am Not but I know I AM by Louie Giglio

In 2002, I was introduced to Louie Giglio through his ministry to college students, Passion. Then in 2003, along with a couple friends, I traveled to the last actual One Day conference they did in Texas. Even though I have never met him personally, I would have to say he is a man God has used to greatly impact my life for His glory. I am very thankful for the ministry that Louie Giglio and his wife have at Passion as well as Passion City Church in Atlanta, GA. I have been inspired many times listening to podcasts of his as well as messages from the yearly Passion gatherings. Needless to say, because of Louie’s obedience to God’s calling in his life, thousands of people have been impacted and I love hearing how God continues to use him, not because of who he is, but because of how God loves to use people to show His glory to the world.

The last sentence in the above paragraph briefly states what this book is all about: little people like us being brought into the big, amazing, magnificent story of God to be used for His glory. Too often we try to live as if this world centers on us and history is all about us. This leaves us with a very small view of the world and a small view of God. Louie begins his book speaking of how God reveals Himself to Moses through the burning bush as “I AM” and how because of the name God gives Himself, the best way for us to remember who we are is to think of us as “I am not.” It is a play on words that is very simple, yet profound. Louie is great at communicating truths from God’s Word in a very practical and easy to understand way which can have a lasting impact on those who take the time to listen. Is this because Louie brings all this attention to himself or because he is just that gifted? No. He would be the first to point back to God and say that the only reason Passion has taken off like it has is because of the big God he serves and who has invited him to take part in the big story of God. This is what life is all about and the sooner we accept this, the sooner we can begin living a life that will leave a lasting impact in the lives of those people around us.

The synopsis on the back of the book has this to say:

“God is looking for ordinary people to play significant roles in HIS STORY.

Our God is more expansive and powerful than we could ever imagine, the all-mighty creator of galaxies beyond our reach. But He is also the loving creator who has formed and fashioned you. Yet, as valuable as you are to Him, God’s best for your life is to invite you into a story that is all about Him.”

This book spoke to me at the right time in my life in that too often, I forget how small I really am in comparison to God. I feel like God really needs me and that without me, the world would be in a bigger mess, or at least the little part of the world where I am involved. However, when I take a closer look at all that God is in control of, I cannot but be put into my rightful place, which is a benefactor in the story of God. God did not make this story all about Him and then just make us pawns who just go about doing His bidding mindlessly and without a choice. No, God gave us the choice to follow Him and then invited us to take part in the story that is all about Him. When we accept that invitation, our lives take on new meaning which is incomparable to anything this world has to offer. However, so many people are stuck in their own little worlds with a big view of themselves and a little view of God. Even professing followers of Christ can have this mindset. Imagine how the church would change for the better if everyone who was a follower of Christ, and thus a part of the body of Christ, would accept this mindset and opinion of God and themselves? It brings chills to my spine thinking about this because of how the church would be able to change the world because no one would be pointing to themselves or their own accomplishments. Everyone would be pointing to God and what He has accomplished and the fact that God has invited us to take part in this story of God that encompasses all of History.

After listening to Louie speak for so long, I can practically hear him speaking this book as I read it. God has given him a unique ability to speak truth in a way that makes sense and through this, from the start to finish this book will open your eyes. Louie uses Scripture and personal stories to really get the point of this book across to anyone who reads it. You will find yourself amazed but at the same time thinking, “why didn’t I think of that?” However, the biggest thing you will walk away from this book with is a renewed awe of God and thankfulness for being invited to play a part in the story of God.

Something I typically do in my book reviews is include a couple quotes from the book to just whet your appetite a little. Here are a couple for you to ponder that stood out to me:

“God was awesome before we ever heard or spoke His name.”

“You were in the mind of God in eternity past. Yet, as God thought about you and me, His mission wasn’t to point us to ourselves but rather to open our eyes to fully enjoy Him. From the start, God was intent on making sure we knew how truly magnificent He is.”

“And what’s really wild is that while He doesn’t need any of us, He is choosing to include us, inviting us into the Story that never ends.”

I highly recommend this book to anyone who will take the chance to read it. It will inspire you and encourage you in your walk with the Lord and yet remind you how much God truly loves you and longs to have a relationship with you. We do not deserve this place in God’s story He has invited us to share in but God, in His grace, chose to invite us along for the ride. After reading this book, you will have to make a choice: am I going to live as if life is really about me, or will I accept the fact and live out the truth that life and history is ALL about the real “I AM” who was, and is, and is to come?

 

I received this book for free from WaterBrook Multnomah Publishing Group for this review as a part of their Blogging for Books program in exchange for an honest review.

About thetoddlynn

Follower of God, Husband, Father, Youth Pastor. View all posts by thetoddlynn

Leave a Reply

