The Blessing by John Trent and Gary Smalley

 

I was not sure what I was going to get with this book because I was not extremely familiar with the author. However, after reading it, I am extremely glad that I picked it up. The Blessing is a book that I would highly recommend for any parent, child, husband, wife, brother, sister, etc., etc. The front cover states this in regard to what the book is all about: Giving the gift of unconditional love and acceptance. That is truly what this book is all about.

John Trent and Gary Smalley do a great job of unpacking and presenting the idea of the “blessing” and how people today can use this idea in any of their relationships. As I read this book, my eyes were opened as to why some things in my family are the way they are. It helped me have a greater understanding for some of my shortcomings. But, most importantly, The Blessing helped strengthen my desire to be a better husband and father and that is what truly blessed me about this book.

It is hard for me to truly state everything about this book in a review. The main thing I can say is to actually go get the book and read it. Pray that God would give you an open heart as you read it. Pray that God would allow you to see where you might be able to make some changes in your life that might help bless those around you.

The only other thing I want to mention about this book comes from its own pages. In the first chapter, the authors are giving reasons for why the blessing is important and the one that really stood out to me is this one: “the blessing fights back against a toxic culture.” The culture is slowly but surely eating away at the idea behind the family. Everywhere you look in the media, there are attacks against what we know as the family. Personally, I know that these attacks are being set forth by Satan but if you were to look more closely, you would probably see that the people attacking the family the most are those who in some way or another have been directly hurt by a family member or something happened in their past to turn them this way. So if the church wants to be able to combat this move, one way is to help families understand how to love each other unconditionally and how to live in light of the gospel.

I do not want to say anything else about the book because I do not want to give too much away. I do want to say though that if you have read this review, you should get the book.

 

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze®.com <http://BookSneeze®.com> book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 <http://www.access.gpo.gov/nara/cfr/waisidx_03/16cfr255_03.html> : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”

About thetoddlynn

Follower of God, Husband, Father, Youth Pastor. View all posts by thetoddlynn

Leave a Reply

