Vomit and a New Perspective on Grace, Love and Sanctification

Parents will appreciate this post. The other night, as I am coming home from work, my wife calls me with some anxiousness in her voice. It turned out that our daughter, only 10 months old, had thrown up in her crib. And this was not just the milk spit up after eating. This was for real spit up, you could even call it projectile vomit. Well, my wife waited until I got home for me to help her clean it up because it was quite a bit. She had gone in after hearing Ellie make a strange sound and that is when she discovered that it was throw up. It was going to take both of us to clean it up because it was everywhere. When I got home I walked into the room to start taking the clothes off my little girl so we could clean her up. She was laying on her stomach asleep, clutching her little bear that she sleeps with and completely soaked on the front with spit up. It was amazing she was able to sleep. So I rolled her over and started to take her clothes off so Marcie could give her a bath and I could clean up the crib. At first, Ellie had no idea what was going on. She didn’t even wake up until I had everything off except her shirt and diaper. Finally, we got her clothes off and Marcie took her to shower. I turned on the light in her room and surveyed the scene. There were pieces of food outside of her crib, on the side of her crib and all over her crib sheet. I once again wondered how she was able to sleep.

After everything was cleaned up and Marcie had given her a bath and got her ready for bed again, Marcie put her back in her crib to sleep and I went about my normal routine when I come home from work, which consists of unwinding for a few minutes and then a shower. While I was showering, God revealed a new picture of His grace towards me. He gave me a new perspective on what had just happened. My daughter could not clean herself up. She needed my help. There was no possible way that she was ever going to get clean without my wife and I stepping in to help. The same goes for my walk with the Lord. There is no way I could ever clean myself up enough to deserve God’s grace.

God, in His mercy, while we were still sinners, dead in our sins, sent His Son to die for me so that I could live. He came and got me while I was still in my mess, washed me in His blood and then clothed me with His righteousness. In the situation with my daughter, she was only asleep; she would have eventually woken up. In our case as humans, we would never wake up if not for God’s love. So God gives us life and washes us clean and then clothes us with His righteousness, not in the filthy rags we once wore. After Marcie bathed Ellie, we gave her new clothes to put on so she could go back to sleep. God gives us new clothes so that we can live for Him and shine for Him. He does not just take old people and make them new. He takes dead people and gives them life. So while what happened with my daughter is a small picture of God’s grace, it pales in comparison with what God has done for us.

Lastly, this whole situation reminded me of the process of sanctification. We can never wash ourselves clean on our own accord. We can NOT sanctify ourselves. Once again, it is completely and fully God’s work in us, through us and for us. (For more on this, I recommend you read My Utmost for His Highest for today, July 23rd. You can find it Here.) Just as my daughter would have continued to sleep and remain in her mess, so we would do the same if not for God stepping in and beginning the whole process.

I will forever remember the events of this night because of what God was able to teach me through the whole situation. I know there will be many more instances like this because that is what parents do, which is why I am so blessed to have the opportunity to be a parent. I don’t deserve the chance but I am so looking forward to what God reveals to me about Himself through everything.

A couple passages that touch on the same topic as this blog are Romans 5 and Ephesians 2. Check them out.

I pray God is able to use this blog to bless you or encourage you in some way or another. If it did, you can feel free to subscribe from the main page and have new blogs sent right to your email.

God bless.

About thetoddlynn

Follower of God, Husband, Father, Youth Pastor. View all posts by thetoddlynn

Leave a Reply

