In a Pit with a Lion on a Snowy Day by Mark Batterson

This book was a pleasant surprise. I was not sure what to expect but I came in hopeful that God would use this book to speak to me. I have a couple friends who actually attend National Community Church and what they had told me about the church and Mark encouraged me to check out this book. I am glad that I did. Something my dad taught me when I was in college was when listening to speakers or reading books is that sometimes you just have to take the meat and spit out the bones. I am happy to say that this book did not come with many bones. In a Pit is not a theological book that will lose you in its pages or astound you with its depth; it is rather a book that will bring you into the story and cause you to want to keep reading. The back of the book has this to say:

“What if the life you really want, and the future God wants for you, is hiding right now in your biggest problem, your worst failure…your greatest fear?”

This book attacks that very statement. You will come away from this book challenged to look at your greatest fears in a new light. This book makes a great point that God will many times use our biggest fear, or what we might see as a problem, to reveal more of Himself to us. As I was reading, I would look back at my life and see that I can relate to what this book. I am sure that if you were to take an honest look at your life you, too, would understand this to be the case.

Mark does not shy away from the fact that choosing to face our fears is never easy. He uses personal stories as well as stories of friends to show that most of the time, facing fears is one of the most difficult decisions in life but, in the end, it is the most rewarding thing that we can do. More often than not, we allow our fears to lead us but after reading this book, you will be challenged to turn and not only face your fears, but to chase them with the realization that God wants to use them in your life. The main character in the story, Benaiah, had no idea what was going to happen when he chased the lion into the pit, but it was a fear that he chose to overcome.  We can make that choice too. When God places fears or problems in our lives, we have the decision to allow them to overwhelm us and cause us to cower. Or we can realize that this could be an opportunity that God wants us to seize in order to bring glory to Him.

Are you going to be a lion chaser or are you going to continue to cower in the face of your fears? This book challenged me to become a chaser and not allow my fears to become bigger than the God I profess to love.

I received this book for free from WaterBrook Multnomah Publishing Group for this review as a part of their Blogging for Books program

About thetoddlynn

Follower of God, Husband, Father, Youth Pastor. View all posts by thetoddlynn

Leave a Reply

