Who has Control?

Who has Control?

This blog is not a typical “Good Friday” blog but it is what was challenging me today. I started reading a book by Erwin McManus earlier this week called Unleashed: Release the Untamed Faith Within which was previously released as The Barbarian Way. But anyways, today I was thinking about some events that have been going on in my life and I was thinking about Unleashed. God has been helping me relearn how to trust Him with everything. So often, I feel like I know what is best for my life and what direction God should take me so I can bring Him the most glory. Unfortunately, life never seems to work out that way. No matter how often I try to put God on a leash and bring Him along with me where I decide to go, things do not work out as planned. But when I actually “unleash” Him and allow Him to take control and guide me, I always wind up with more than I could have imagined. The way is always hard, but it is also more rewarding. God wants us to unleash Him and allow Him to be God instead of us trying to be god. When we try to be God, things get messy though they may be “safe”, but when we allow God to be God, life gets crazy and adventurous. When we hand over control, we have no idea what to expect, but that is how God likes it to be. He does not want to be figured out. He wants people to worship Him and trust Him because He is far beyond our wildest imagination. If God was a safe God, we would not be here. He would have never allowed for sin to enter the world. He would never allow Satan to roam free on this earth. No, God is not safe in the way that we would see safe. Following God is not something you do if you want a safe, easy life. If you want a safe and easy life, do not come to church. Do not read the Bible. Do not pray. If God were safe, He would never have sent His Son to live a perfect life and then die as the ultimate sacrifice for OUR sins. That is not the safe way to act.

So, I write this because God has me at a place on this “Good Friday” in 2011 thinking about where God has me and in reality, I would not want to change it. I can look at my life and know that God is definitely working even though I do not SEE everything going on. It is a part of faith. We cannot see everything that happens but we have hope. I would rather allow God to remain unleashed in my life and be free to work in the ways that He sees best, than for me to allow my prideful, sinful and selfish self to try to figure out what is best for me. It never seemed to work out like I wanted it too before, so why would that change now?

You may not be at a place where this really speaks to you or challenges you, but I pray that you are not keeping God on a leash but that you are allowing Him to be God. I finish with this quote from C.S. Lewis:

“Is – is he a man?” asked Lucy
“Aslan a man!” said Mr. Beaver sternly. “Certainly not. I tell you he is the King of the wood and the son of the great Emperor-Beyond-the-Sea. Don’t you know who is the King of Beasts? Aslan is a lion, the Lion, the great Lion.”
“Ooh,” said Susan, “I thought he was a man. Is he – quite safe? I shall feel rather nervous about meeting a lion.”
“That you will, dearie, abd make no mistake,” said Mrs. Beaver; “if there’s anyone who can appear before Aslan without their knees knocking, they’re either braver than most or else just silly.”
“Then he isn’t safe?” said Lucy.
“Safe?” said Mr. Beaver; “don’t you hear what Mrs. Beaver tells you? Who said anything about safe? ‘Course he isn’t safe. But he’s good. He’s the king I tell you.” (The Lion, The Witch and the Wardrobe.)

About thetoddlynn

Follower of God, Husband, Father, Youth Pastor. View all posts by thetoddlynn

Leave a Reply

