Surviving or Changing?

I am reading this book right now as part of a “Blogging for Books” program that Multnomah Publishing that encourages people who enjoy blogging and reading to read books they publish and then offer a review of the book. The book I am reading is calledSun Stand Still by Steven Furtick. The guy is an extremely dynamic speaker and if he ever had to leave the ministry, he could be an extremely successful salesman. The book is concerning audacious faith and is kind of going along the same lines as Crazy Love by Francis Chan and Radical by David Platt in trying to call people out to a more radical life for Christ. I am only in chapter 3 but I am already a little weary of the word audacious right now. But anyways, this is not the book review so I will save that for later.

However, what this post is about is something I read within the book. Steven has just finished sharing a story of what he prays over his boys each night after they have gone to sleep. Then he shares a quote of something he once heard a preacher say. It is worth sharing here:
“I’m not raising my kids to survive the world. I’m raising them to change it.” (Sun Stand Still, pg. 31-32)
The fact that I have a 7 month old daughter is what caused this quote to stand out. There is so much garbage going on in the world today that many parents are worried about what their kids will have to look forward to. This mindset is more born out of a spirit of fear than of a spirit that should be alive and well within Christians. If we are worried about how our kids will handle the world when they are older, are we really imparting to them the fact that “we are more than conquerors?” (Romans 8:37) Are we showing them with our lives that we believe what Romans 8:31 says, “If God is for us, who can be against us?” This quote stood out to me as a challenge to raise my daughter Ellie in the fear of the Lord and not the fear of man. Matthew 10:28 tells us not to “fear those who can kill the body but cannot kill the soul.”
What about me? Am I living that way? Am I living to survive the world or am I living to change the world? I have read in many books already that our kids will act like we act more than they will just do what we say. If that is so, am I living with a spirit of fear? Am I living to survive the world or to change it? “For God gave us a spirit NOT of fear, but of power and love and self-control.” (2 Timothy 1:7)
I know what I want to do, and what I want my daughter to do. But what is she going to see in me as I live each day before her eyes?
What do others see in you?
About thetoddlynn

Follower of God, Husband, Father, Youth Pastor. View all posts by thetoddlynn

Leave a Reply

